Waigani Convention

The Waigani Convention (Convention to Ban the Importation into Forum Island Countries of Hazardous and Radioactive Wastes and to Control the Transboundary Movement and Management of Hazardous Wastes within the South Pacific Region) is one such agreement which is entered into force in October 2001.

The main effect of this Convention is to ban the import of all hazardous and radioactive wastes into South Pacific Forum Island Countries. It also enables Australia to receive hazardous wastes exported from South Pacific Forum Island countries which are not Parties to the Basel Convention. There are 24 countries within the coverage area of the Waigani Convention.

As at December 2002, ten parties had ratified the Waigani Convention. These were Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Kirribati, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.